top of page
My Pick:
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Search By Tag:
No tags yet.
Stay In The Know:

Top tips for preparing for a trip to Disney!

I love Walt Disney World! The best holidays I've ever been on have all been to Orlando and I plan on going many many more times! I'm currently on countdown to our 5th visit to the most magical place on earth this summer so I thought I'd pass on a few tips for those who might be planning their first visit. Now I'm not a Disney expert or anything so if these seems obvious/stupid I'm sorry!

1. Plan, plan and plan some more. You are going to need an itinerary to make sure you squeeze everything in-as the saying goes failing to plan is planning to fail! Unfortunately this is not a holiday for the spontaneous types-feel free to leave blanks for 'spontaneity' but make sure you have decided when you are doing all the big things.

2. Do not go to Orlando expecting to have a relaxing holiday. This will probably be the busiest few weeks of your life, but I promise you, you will have some of the best nights sleep you've ever had! Lots of people like to factor in a few days at the end of their holiday to go to the beach or on a cruise to reenergise.

3. Dining reservations at the best Disney restaurants book up fast so if there's somewhere you particularly want to eat make sure to book these well in advance. You can do all this from the my Disney experience app.

4. Book fast passes. These are an absolute blessing, and you will be so thankful for them when you get to walk straight onto a ride rather than queueing in the blistering heat for 2 hours with screaming children. You can book up to three per day and these can be booked 60 days in advance for resort guests and 30 days for everyone else.

5. Wear clothing you know is very very comfortable. Florida is extremely hot and humid, especially if you visit in the summer. Even the most comfortable denim shorts at home will become the sweatiest, chaffiest (not sure that's a real word?!) thing you have ever worn once faced with 35 degree heat and a rainstorm.

6. And wear comfy shoes. You will be doing A LOT of walking. Wear something you know will have good grip and dry quickly if there is a sudden down pour, but that you also know won't come off your feet when you're dangling 100 feet in the air (so no flimsy flip flops!) I like to wear espadrilles as they're very light weight, breathable and dry quickly.

7. Last tip: expect to need to go back again! It is virtually impossible to do everything you want to do-even if you're there for a month. Also, there is always something new being added! I plan on visiting every two years for the rest of my life (and possibly retiring there if the funds allow it)

So there are my fairly obvious top tips! Comment below with you're top Disney tips :-)

Love Bertie xx


bottom of page